Can you make money from your blog?

Friends,

This is one of those interesting questions you really do not see much written about in the blogosphere.

I think there is a hidden bias among bloggers along the lines of, “It is not professional for me to admit that I want to ever make money at this …. ”

And I think that is both good and bad.

It is a good attitude not to write solely for profit. You will become like a politician.

But, it is also bad. Because, too often we accept total mediocrity in our writing and that of others.

And in our software vendors (WordPress? Are you getting the message yet?)

But, you can profitize your blogging.

First, you can write for other blogs.

Second, you can buy into the WordPress model, I forget how that is set up, but you really don’t make much.

Thirdly, you can buy into Google’s advertising – I think that has the easiest route to profit.

And fourthly, you can set it up your self. There are of course varying levels of do it yourself (DIY). But, this allows you to keep control of ‘who’ markets your website.

So, can you make money?

Yes and no.

It is difficult to make money on a smaller blog, or audience. And at some time, you will need to focus upon your target audience.

My ‘target’ is people. And for most advertising purposes, that is too broad a definition for profitability.

You need to be honest with yourself if you think you EVER want to make money on the web. And I hope you find me honest with myself and with you. I am not in this for the money.

I am in this to change society for the better.

And I know that is a huge CLAIM. But, I hope my little corner of the Internet helps a few people make a better life for themselves.

So, yes YOU can make money. You need to do some of the things I do, but it helps if you target a market.

Cooking? Politics? Religion? Dating? Quilting? Fishing? Football?

A narrow market enables you to attract higher quality advertisers.

I hope you make a decent return on your investment through blogging.

Wayne

About Wayne

First, I blogged on blogger, then Myspace - soon I was consistently ranked. Next, I quit. Then the blogging addiction came back .... Comments are appreciated. Not nice comments are edited. You can follow me at the top right.
This entry was posted in Blog, Blogging, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

