Whew!

Friends,

It is difficult to blog when I am asleep. And when I was awake, I was either moving, hurting, tweeting, or

Studying Russian.

THAT language is a ‘bear.’ Every time I think I am close to ‘getting it,’ THE Russian Bear bites me in the $#@!.

OKAY, this post is for three things: first is to vent about misery and Russian; two, I might give you a small insight into learning; and you know it!

I love to blog.

Tweeting gets noticed ‘a lot,’ but blogging is personal. And sometimes ya’ll seem to enjoy my ramblings.

Okay, back to the first two, I hurt, enough on that.

Let US look at Russian and learning.

In order to learn you need to understand your final objective and some near term objectives.

This is like investing for retirement, if you only focus on the destination, you will miss many smaller goals you should have made.

My final Russian goal is near native conversational fluency. My near term goals are: word acquisition (1,500 words); noun declensions (how Russian uses their words grammatically0; finding 4 good instructors; and conversational fluency (15 minute conversations).

As a quick aside, learning 1,500 Russian words requires learning about 6,000 words, because each word is conjugated, so if I was only looking at a pure 1,500 words that would be about 400 words in any other language.

So I have broken down my goals.

Why 4 instructors? So, my ear will be tuned to the language and not to one person.

Learning is work, whatever you are learning, studying, requires you to ‘work out’ your brain.

Learn to work out your brain. The more you work it out, the further you will go in life.

Wayne

About Wayne

First, I blogged on blogger, then Myspace - soon I was consistently ranked. Next, I quit. Then the blogging addiction came back .... Comments are appreciated. Not nice comments are edited. You can follow me at the top right.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Russian Language and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whew!

  1. I admire your determination to become fluent in Russian. This is a huge undertaking I am sure. 48 years ago when I was in the Air Force…(did I say 48? wow!) I was pushed through Chinese Mandarin school at the Defense Language Institute in Monterrey California. It was an intense ‘drop you in the deep end of the pool’ sink or swim experience. 9 months 40 hours a week with 4 hours of homework every night. Once we got past the grammer (12 weeks) it was 200 vocabulary words every week for the duration. I felt like they drilled a hole in my head, inserted a funnel and started pouring gasoline. I came out the other end fluent, despite myself, not because of my hard work. My biggest regret is that I am the perfect example of “if you don’t use it…you lose it.” Today, 48 years later I can order from a chinese restaurant menu without embarrassing myself, but don’t press me to go any farther! 🙂 Good luck with your endeavors!

Leave a Reply

