What makes the perfect boat?

Fellow internet navigators,

What makes one boat better than the next?

Is it merely style?

I have been known to post over at boatdesign.net. Because, in my quest, I would like to build a better boat.

As I think upon this from time to time, I really do think the better boat would need to be a function of 4 key elements.

Handling and speed, so it will be thinner rather than fatter.

Large enough for a small cabin, to escape bad weather, or to rest.

Small enough that it is still light.

Short enough that it will still fit upon a trailer.

Often this ‘style’ of boat would probably be a ‘micro-cruiser.’

And I think, this is my personal choice, a catamaran, trimaran, or canoe with an outrigger would be best.

My reason for that is ‘stability.’ I seldom get motion sickness, and I grew up on the water. But, I know that the worst place to get motion sickness would be on the water ….

So, 30 foot to about 36 foot?

As an aside, there is an interesting issue in this, the longer a boat gets, the more expensive it gets ….

But, I think around 33 feet seems to be about the ideal ‘minimum.’ And after about 36 feet costs go up quickly. And as another aside, most 40 foot boats have as many rooms as a 55 foot boat.

It is like houses. Have you looked at 4 bedroom homes? 1800 square feet, or 2600 square feet give you about the same number of rooms. 2600 square feet feels bigger, it is bigger, and it will be more comfortable, but you will have 4 bedrooms. So, many families make do with an 1800 square foot home just as well as a 2600 square foot home.

I think that describes the big differences between a 35 foot boat and a 45 foot boat. Except, the prices of boats go up faster than homes do ….

I like the way the Farrier f-boats and the Corsair Marine trimarans fold, but I wish there was something that crossed their folding with the Quorning Dragonfly.

Oh well.

On the catamaran side, Richard Woods’ Eclipse is a nice 32 foot boat.

I have corresponded with Richard Woods several times, and I can tell he knows boats, and he knows his boats. One thing I would point out is something Richard told me some time ago. It went something like this: Because of the costs of hulls, the size of hulls, the layout you can place on two hulls rather than one hull or three, catamarans are the best sailing design for the money.

While it is very difficult to argue with that.

I still love the way a trimaran LOOKS. Having said that, he is correct. It is impossible to get as much living space in the same length trimaran, or even monohull.

Here is an outrigger canoe, they call it a proa, but you can tell it is really an outrigger canoe by how narrow it is.

And here is a small proa. And Chesapeake Light Craft’s (CLC) Madness proa.

Proa’s are usually larger than outrigger canoes, but the two designs are closely related. And they are usually a lot smaller than a similar trimaran, and there is no comparison with a catamaran.

So, even though I do not prefer the ‘look’ of the catamaran, I must agree with Richard, they are the best bang for the buck.

What do you think?

Wayne

About Wayne

First, I blogged on blogger, then Myspace - soon I was consistently ranked. Next, I quit. Then the blogging addiction came back .... Comments are appreciated. Not nice comments are edited. You can follow me at the top right.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What makes the perfect boat?

  1. hoytedow says:

    I agree about the 1950 era, so sad so few know how great it was. As trailering goes I am glad I don’t pull a 30 foot boat.

    • Wayne says:

      Thank you for your comment(s).

      Great point. I really do want a shorter system, that I can ‘bolt’ together for a longer system ….

      10′ long compared to 60′ long, there is no comparison which boat you would want to be in during a storm.

      But, I am chasing that ‘perfect’ match of size, portability, and ease of use ….

      Thanks for coming by.

      Wayne

Leave a Reply

