God save America!

Everyone,

I just had a remarkable evening with my translator.

My girlfriend was at church tonight for choir practice, so I see her tomorrow.

It is always fun to see how someone views America when they haven’t been there.

They have an idolized view of what it is like.

Everyone has a great job with a lot of money. They all have a great family with beautiful kids (3.47 kids to be exact). Sometimes they have a dog and a cat.

Mom doesn’t work, she stays at home.

And everybody is happy.

Then you tell them 50% of our children get food subsidies from the Government, because 50% of our kids only have a mother at home.

And they look at you like, “Are you crazy? That is NOT the America of my dreams.”

And I answer, “No. America is not the land of your dreams. We have better paying jobs, but our cost of living is a lot higher, so we consume that extra money instead of saving it. And we do not have a high regard for family, teachers, priests. And we have a high regard for our corrupt politicians.”

To which my friend tonight said, “Isn’t that backwards?”

Yes, I pray we will turn things around to the way they used to be. Yes, I pray America will one day become a great land for many great dreamers. Yes, I pray we won’t go bankrupt paying for single mothers to raise kids instead of making fathers raise their kids.

God save America.

Wayne

About Wayne

First, I blogged on blogger, then Myspace - soon I was consistently ranked. Next, I quit. Then the blogging addiction came back .... Comments are appreciated. Not nice comments are edited. You can follow me at the top right.
This entry was posted in Culture, God, Politics, Society and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

