How do I tell my best gay friend, I am not gay?

Anyone have a good idea?

I went to college with my friend, ‘G’.

We were best friends for a very long time. He helped me out as I tried to navigate the dating world. And I often failed.

There were always rumors he was ‘gay.’ But, he had girlfriends, and he didn’t bother me. So, I was good with that.

However, at his graduation, I saw him kissing a guy.

I am sorry, but that is not what a straight man thinks of as exciting.

Anyway, I got an email out of the blue asking if I was me. I looked at the email, and thought, “This is crazy. G is working in Denver. This is my only week to work in Denver.

Unreal. We met for dinner. And he did what he has done so many times since I found out, “I have always had a crush on you.” And then he batted his eyes.

I am so far from Gay, I might as well be a Martian.

But, as a friend, I really like the man. But, needless to say, more comments like that, and I am better off without his friendship. IMHO.

So, how do you get a gay man to be a friend, and only a friend?

Wayne

About Wayne

First, I blogged on blogger, then Myspace - soon I was consistently ranked. Next, I quit. Then the blogging addiction came back .... Comments are appreciated. Not nice comments are edited. You can follow me at the top right.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How do I tell my best gay friend, I am not gay?

  1. He knows your straight so hopefully he is just messing with you, but it obviously makes you uncomfortable so you should just bring it up. You are just being honest, that’s better than being uncomfortable everytime you see him.

    • Wayne says:

      Well, that is the reason I would like to clear things up.

      It makes me uncomfortable enough, I don’t want to be around him. And I don’t like losing a friend, but he seems to think if I just tell Wayne how much I have a crush, some day, he might change the way he feels.

      That is not happening.

      Thanks,

      Wayne

  2. Reblogged this on sachinvadehra and commented:
    i believe sex and friendship both are important in life

  3. Cassandra says:

    I guess just say exactly what you would say if it was a girl that was hitting on you and you were not interested. If you’re honest he’ll back away. Nobody likes to risk repeat rejection 🙂

    • Wayne says:

      Uh, this is not a girl hitting on me. If she kept not listening, I could pretty much ignore her.

      Thank you for your comment.

      Wayne

  4. Just be honest. The way I see it, a gay guy should not come on to a straight guy and rather respect the friendship. If this makes you uncomfortable, keep some distance until the time is right to resume the friendship. Good luck.. Ivan

Leave a Reply

