“Change is good, Sir!”

Friends,

This is dedicated to the Black Knights.

Have you ever had one of those moments? I did once. It was ‘zero-five-thirty’ in the morning. I walked into the office of my unit.

I was (OK, ‘we’ were) stationed in an armored tank unit in South Korea. ‘We’ were about 10 miles from the North Korean Army. Like they say, “We were locked and cocked.”

So, when something was out of the ordinary, it got your attention.

I saw the lights were on in our office (headquarters), and I stopped in to see what was going on. Now, normally there was a charge of quarters (CQ) there at night. So, there would be a light or two on. But, I noticed that there were a lot of lights. And the Executive Officer’s lights were on.

So, I walked in.

I looked over to my right and saw the XO. I said, “What’s up ‘L.T.?'”

That was better than “What’s up Doc?” Don’t you think?

He looked at me and said, “Change is good sergeant. Change is good. Keep telling me that.”

I answered the classic Army response, “Hoo-ah, sir. Change is good sir. Sir? Why is change good this morning?”

Now my LT and I had a great working relationship.

We had both gone to Texas A&M University. We were both in the Corps of Cadets at Texas A&M.

Hoo-ah.

We were both hard charging. Probably him more so than me.

He stopped in his tracks. He shook his head. He turned towards me; placed both hands on the counter between us; and said, “I really don’t know. But, the Colonel told me to change every thing in our Quarterly Training Briefing by zero-six this morning, or else.”

He shook his head a little bit.

“Sergeant? If you ever catch me about to tell the Colonel that ‘change is good.’ Will you promise to slap me back into my senses?”

I looked the LT over. And I asked, “Sir? Have you had any sleep?”

He looked at the clock. “No. And that is part of the problem. I have to brief the Colonel in about fifteen minutes.”

“Can I help, sir?”

“I don’t think so. I have to face the Colonel sooner or later.”

“Have you had coffee?”

“Not since midnight.”

“I’ll put on a pot. You can take a cup with you.”

I don’t know if the LT knew it at that time. But, the Colonel was not mad at my LT. He was mad at my commander. Our Captain had gotten into serious trouble while on his vacation (leave). And my Platoon Sergeant had gotten into serious trouble on duty.

So, for awhile, we were ‘F’ Troop. Do, you remember that show?

My unit was in trouble no matter what we did.

The Colonel had snapped at our LT. He had told him to change everything. My LT had replied, “Change is good, sir. Change is good.”

The Colonel responded, “Are you mocking me, Lieutenant?”

As you can guess, it did not get better from that point in their conversation.

Change is good. But, sometimes change is forced upon us. And sometimes it is totally beyond our control.

What is changing in your life that you can control?

What is there that you cannot control?

Wayne

About Wayne

First, I blogged on blogger, then Myspace - soon I was consistently ranked. Next, I quit. Then the blogging addiction came back .... Comments are appreciated. Not nice comments are edited. You can follow me at the top right.
This entry was posted in Blog, Blogging, US Army, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

