Калина красная (1974) The Red Snoball Tree

Wayne:

OK Friends, 

To enjoy this film, you have to understand a little about the culture and
CLICK the CC on the right hand side at the bottom to turn on subtitles. 

BUT, THIS IS A REALLY FUNNY MOVIE.

OK, I admit 90% of my ‘Russian’ Friends live in the USA …. But, this film has such a feel of what it must have been like in the 1970′s USSR to it,

In fact, I think I have seen the same buses used in this film.

;)

YOU MUST watch it.

OK, you don’t have to. But, if you don’t …. I cannot think of an appropriate threat, because I am too sick. That is why I only watched the first few minutes.

OOppps.

I am SICK!

American food is killing me, and it WILL kill you.

OK, back to the movie.

I will give a review of it later (I have not seen it yet).

But, the basic story is simple, the lead character gets out of jail, he goes to his old life, and he gets chased away by the police. And everyone else he knew. Accept for his brother.

So, he goes to the only place left for him. He goes to this wilderness village, OK, they do have a tea room and communal hot baths. And there he meets his pen-pal, love interest.

OK, simple enough. However, the author, director (and lead character) does a great job of increasing TENSION in the plot.

Imagine that? A plot without drugs, sex, and rock and roll?

And a little important background: His love interest in the movie was his wife in real life.

And he died the year after finishing his final film ….

It is a really good look at Russia in the 1970′s.

I think.

What do you think?

Wayne

Originally posted on time4russian:

Loved by many Russians, this beautiful and poetic film was shot by Vasili Shukshin and is based on his story with the same name.

Yegor Prokudin is released from prison. He is heading to a village where Lyuba lives, a peasant girl he knows only from her letters. He needs a break, some rest to decide what to do next. The rural life and the love he soon discovers return to Yegor his joy of life and make him more and more determined to give up his criminal past life. But his former associates are not going to leave him alone…

Watch this film with or without English subtitles:

View original 199 more words

About Wayne

First, I blogged on blogger, then Myspace - soon I was consistently ranked. Next, I quit. Then the blogging addiction came back .... Comments are appreciated. Not nice comments are edited. You can follow me at the top right.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Politics, Society, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Калина красная (1974) The Red Snoball Tree

  1. joesix says:

    I prefer “Nu, Pogodi!”

  2. time4russian says:

    I agree with you Wayne, the atmosphere in the film is so true to life, and it still feels very Russian even though we’re not in the Soviet Union anymore :)

  3. Wayne says:

    Reblogged this on luvsiesous and commented:

    That is FUNNY!

    Someone – a single one of my readers – just looked at my old blog on this movie. And just two days ago, I was talking with a new friend about how much I loved this movie!!!

    It is old fashioned. But, it is so much like the Ukraine I see once I get away from the Big City.

    And, it is a little like the Big City.

    Enjoy.

    Wayne

Leave a Reply

